Cooking Light…or cooking lie?

cookinglight2

I’ve told myself so many times that I would try to cook daily/weekly meals, but never get around to it. And I told myself I’d start cooking more healthy once in awhile, but end up buying food to-go that I’d hate to cook myself (and see all the bad stuff its made from). It’s tough to start changing your routine, but hopefully I can step it up in the next few days.

Sadly, I’ve been eating out most of my days here in college. Why? Fast-food tempts us with it’s cheap prices and convenience. I got many cookbooks before school started, one of which was the Cooking Light book (pictured). But I haven’t had time to go to the grocery store and experiment in the kitchen. Seriously, I have no food to cook with. Just a few pistachios, peanuts, Wasa crackers, and a few pieces of string cheese. I’ve cut back on the groceries quite a bit from the beginning of the semester. When I bought fresh produce, I’d have to put of cooking if there was an exam the next day or if I wasn’t home to cook, so the food spoiled quickly and I’d have to throw it away. 😦

Now, back to the book. I found it at ROSS for cheap! And it’s a compilation of the 2008 magazine issues of Cooking Light (have you read it? have any favorite recipes?). Cooking at home is way less expensive  then buying 2-3 meals a day from restaurants, and thanks to my “light” book, it’ll be way healthier too. I gotta take the time to buy ingredients to make at least one food out of the book (or any of my other healthy food cookbooks). Just to prove to myself that I can do it. I won’t tell myself the cooking lie anymore! On that motivational note, I must also pledge to hit the gym everyday for an hour (my foot/ankle still hurts though :/) at least 2-3 days a week and work up from there.

Will these be broken promises? Hopefully not.

P.S. I’m happy to say I didn’t use the bus at all today. Walked to and fro throughout the day! 😉 Small but good start, eh? Anyone else trying to get into a new routine or have past experiences?

Leave a Reply

