Jerry Rivera appears in Houston

Puerto Rican salsa singer Jerry Rivera was in Houston, Texas, on March 19 for a concert at the Arena Theatre.

Last Friday, I got the opportunity to attend Jerry Rivera’s private performance. The audience consisted of Mega 101 FM’s meet and greet ticket winners, who vied for the prize by calling in to the station or entering the contest online.

The winners were invited to the Bel-Furniture lounge to see Rivera perform some of his music before the night’s performance. It was such a nice atmosphere with all the fans. View photos of the private concert here.

I was relieved that I didn’t have to listen to random music playing in the background while waiting for the concert to start. A group called Rumba made an appearance before Rivera’s performance, and they were magnificent! Rumba sang everything from merengue, salsa, reggaeton and other popular Latin songs. People danced openly; you could tell they were enjoying themselves.

The crowd kept dancing throughout the night. The room was still full of energy as Rivera got to the stage. His band was one of the best I have ever heard. Rivera sang some of my favorite songs of all time: “Cara de Nino,” “Amores Como el Nuestro,” “Cuenta Conmigo,” “Una en un Millon” and “Me Estoy enamorando.” It was such a wonderful concert, and I hope he comes back to Houston again.

–Diana, SMAG Staff

**SMAG wants to know: What’s your favorite Jerry Rivera song? Have you seen him in concert before? When did you start listening to his music?


Photo credit: Ary Ochoa

2 responses to “Jerry Rivera appears in Houston

  1. I love “Amores Como el Nuestro.” Absolute classic. To this day, whenever I hear the beginning of that Shakira song, I think they are playing the Jerry Rivera version! LOL. I didn’t attend this one, but hopefully, he will come back soon and I will be in attendance.

    • Alicia, that’s the same exact same thing I would think every time that Shakira song would come out on the radio!
      Next time he comes back to Houston or makes an announcement of a tour I’ll make sure to post it here.

Comments are closed.