Album Review: Pierce the Veil’s Selfish Machines

Just a few days before Warped Tour kicks off on Friday, June 25, Pierce the Veil (PTV) has released their sophomore album titled Selfish Machines. Following their successful full-length album, A Flair For The Dramatic, the San Diego quartet’s newest album effortlessly displays their mature development, yet maintains a unique, post-hardcore sound.

Songs such as “Caraphernelia” and “The Boy Who Could Fly” have upbeat melodies that call for head banging at shows. The love for their supporters is expressed through “I Don’t Care If You’re Contagious,” which is inspired by a young fan whose life was greatly influenced by PTV. Other soft piano ballads and rhythmic guitar sounds are demonstrated through “Bulletproof Love” and “Stay Away From My Friends.” Lyrically, the album holds deep meaning for the band, who continue to show their powerful songwriting ability throughout Selfish Machines.

PTV comes together to form another dynamic, mind-blowing experience for fans while also drawing in new fans in the process. If you want to take part in the energetic and lively atmosphere they bring to live shows, catch them on Warped Tour at the Altec Lansing Stage.

Pierce the Veil is: Vic and Mike Fuentes, Tony Perry, and Jaime Preciado.

Check out for more on this band!

-Jennifer, music reporter

Photo credit: Victoria Morse


One response to “Album Review: Pierce the Veil’s Selfish Machines

  1. Pingback: SMAG’s 2010 in review « SMAG magazine·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s