Interview with Tanner Howe of Disco Curtis

Vocalist and guitarist Tanner Howe went on an acoustic Texas tour and talked to SMAG at the Austin show.

Disco Curtis, from Dallas, Texas, started off on Myspace and have already accomplished much, from touring across the U.S. at various Hot Topic locations to successfully hitting number one on Myspace Music Videos with their song “Ashley.” They have recently released two new singles, “Ammunition” and “This Gravity,” and have made an appearance at this past summer’s Vans Warped Tour.

Disco Curtis is Tanner Howe (vocalist/guitarist), Garrett Perales (lead guitar), Brendan Barone (bass), and AJ Novak (drums).

___________________

Where’s the rest of the band?

Well, AJ is in California right now–he flew out there. And Garrett actually called me a few nights before this show and said, “Hey, I got to fly out to Tennessee.” So Garrett is out in Tennessee right now, and Brendan is back at home because he didn’t want to go on the Texas tour to sing harmonies. His birthday happened just a couple days ago, so he’s been hanging out at home.

How long has the band been together?

Well, we’ve all been in different bands before this band. Disco Curtis has actually been together since 2008. I had the vision for it kind of at the end of 2007. I was still in another band, and I was like, “I think I’m going to start another band.” I wasn’t sure what it was going to be called yet, but later on it became Disco Curtis. So it’s been about two years since Disco Curtis.

So how did y’all meet each other?

I met AJ in fourth grade, school. I think pretty much everyone met through school. I met Garrett in school a couple years later. Then Brendan came way late…but it wasn’t until later into high school that I met them and Brendan.

Good thing you went to school.

Yeah, school, it’s a good thing we went to school.

How would you describe the band’s sound?

It’s pop and it’s rock, it’s a blend of those genres. I can’t give a definite answer for this just because I’m about to write and record my first record and I’m not exactly sure what it’s going to sound like until it’s done, honestly. Just because I’m going to be experimenting, but I’m still going to stay true to the pop and the rock thing that I’ve always done and always listened to and grown up with.

Is the song Ashley about somebody in particular?

Yeah, it’s about a girl whose name I won’t use in this interview, but she is an ex of mine, and I wrote it about her being naughty with other people that aren’t me.

Who are your influences?
I’m heavily influenced by Max Bemis of Say Anything, Chris Carrabba of Dashboard Confessional, a lot of other bands from Blink-182 to the Starting Line and a lot of that kind of stuff growing up–I listened to a lot of them. And bands like Mae, Jimmy Eat World, U2.

What’s your favorite song from another artist?
I’m going to go with “Beautiful Day” by U2 because I played it tonight [laughs]. I love that song.

What can fans expect from you in the future?
A record, a full-length record eventually. Hopefully sooner than later, I’ll be working on that and then, of course, more touring. Lots of touring in 2011 as soon as we release that record. You can expect catchy songs and real songs–it’ll be very fun.

Another Texas tour?
Of course, another Texas tour! I might bring a band with me next time, we’ll see.

You were on the second half of Warped tour this summer. How was that experience?

It was crazy! I saw a lot of new things, and I met a lot of new people. It was so much fun. It was tiring, but I wouldn’t take back a second of it.

This is a little off topic, but what’s your favorite food?
I’m going to say–I’ve never answered  this–but I’m going to say pizza just because you can put any topping on pizzas. so I can have multiple favorite foods. I can have a pineapple pizza, or a chicken pizza, or an avocado pizza. I’d say avocado is one of my favorite foods, but pizza because I can include everything in there.

What restaurant would you recommend to anyone visiting Dallas?
There’s a really cool restaurant called Bellissimo in my hometown…they got delicious pizza. And then there’s also California Pizza Kitchen, but they have those everywhere. If you are in downtown Dallas, though, I recommend you go to a place called Eatzi‘s. It’s delicious–they serve all kinds of food. It’s like a really nice marketplace with fresh food and great avocado.

Is there anything you’d like to say to your fans?
I just want to say thank you for all the support, and, honestly, I wouldn’t be able to physically tour if people didn’t come to the shows.

Be looking out for that record that’s coming out soon. And get the singles “This Gravity” and “Ammunition” on iTunes.

I love [my fans], I love you all.

–Jennifer and Smez


Photo: Stephanie Meza

_____________________________

Big thanks to Tanner for the interview!

Check them out: MySpaceTwitterYouTubeFacebookbigcartel

One response to “Interview with Tanner Howe of Disco Curtis

  1. Pingback: SMAG’s 2010 in review « SMAG magazine·

Leave a Reply

