Photos: Houston House of Creeps 11.23.12

Hindsight 01

Going home to Houston for Thanksgiving break meant time with family, good grub, and catching a Rockets game. But there was the inevitable family chaos to bring down the mood. I needed to find a good show to end the week on a better note.

Luckily, there was a place to escape: Houston House of Creeps. Home to many great local shows, and just a couple weeks previously had hosted bands playing Creeperfest. (Would’ve been there if I wasn’t already set to be at the Mohawk in Austin for this show.)

I wasn’t too familiar with the bands on the lineup, but I knew Fingers Crossed was worth it so there were no doubts about going. Chemistry also enticed me, as I’d heard their music on their split with Fingers Crossed but never live. Other bands included Tigerparty, Hindsight, and Waterparks. Russel Womack opened the show with an acoustic set and some funny commentary.

This show is a memorable one: my first local show in Houston and first time at House of Creeps. I grew up in Houston, how can that be?

The local music scene was not something I found during my early years living nearby in Pasadena. Only after living in Austin did I learn to love the locals, since I was able to explore on my own and find what I liked. So this show was my first taste of my hometown’s offerings, and I wasn’t disappointed.

In comparison to a boring household, House of Creeps obviously wins. Compared to local Austin shows? Maybe, but couldn’t say for sure until I see more of Houston. Not simply be in Houston, but see and hear it.

–Smez

Can’t see for yourself? We’ve got photos, video, and interviews of the bands at this show, so be sure to check back!

This is the first part in a series of posts: (1) Black Friday show photos, followed by interviews and live set videos of (2) Hindsight, (3) Fingers Crossed, (4) Tigerparty, (5) Waterparks, and (6) Chemistry.

Listen

Tigerparty Facebook/bandcamp

Hindsight Facebook/bandcamp

Waterparks Facebook/bandcamp

Fingers Crossed Facebook/bandcamp

Chemistry  Facebook/bandcamp

Featured image on homepage: Chemistry, top image: Hindsight. Images by: Stephanie Meza

Leave a Reply

